Forever Home

Loden will finally be getting his forever home. He will be a pet and get lots of loves and kisses and goodies, just like he was always happy. He won’t be coming to our house though. Over the last two months the foster home Loden has been in hasn’t seen any thing related to allergies so he is going to be placed as a K-9 Buddy. I’m happy for my boy, I guess he’s not my boy any more, but Loden will finally get his forever home. I hope I get to visit him one more time. They don’t have a match for him yet, but once they do we will get the news. I hope he lives a long happy life with his child and that he remains healthy.

 

As much as my heart is broken that he won’t be coming home, I can’t help but be relieved that this is finally over. It’s well past time. Loden is going where he belongs and I can FINALLY be excited and plan and not feel guilty about getting a puppy to raise from another school. It was like a weight lifted off my shoulders. I don’t have to worry anymore about “what if” Lo-lo comes home, what if our landlord doesn’t want three dogs here, what if we can’t afford his medical needs, what if I can’t split my time between three dogs and the family well enough. I felt like I was betraying Loden anytime I was going to get a puppy from another school, but I no longer feel that way. Loden is doing what he was bred to do, helping someone improve their life, and I will continue to raise, what school will be “home” for me is yet to be seen, but I can’t wait to start the adventure with little “E” soon!

Published in: on November 17, 2008 at 4:39 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://puppyraiser.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/forever-home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad that Loden is doing something so important! He will be so loved and cherished. 🙂 And I know as much as you wanted your boy back, it’s probably easier for you to raise this way, and that’s always a plus. 🙂

  2. I am so glad that Loden gets to be a K9 buddy!! He was one of the most lovable dogs in the kennel at my internship, and needed to have a job. Whatever blind child gets to be his person is so incredably lucky!


Leave a Reply

